Categories · Introduction to Communication and Media Studies

An Introduction

Hi, my name’s Jordan I’m a 1st year undergrad doing a BA in Communications and Media Studies (majoring in Digital Media). This is where everything about my course will happen, including my BCM110 and BCM112 blogs. I’m not too sure what the main focus of this site will be about just yet but for the time being I’m quite interested in the visualisation of live data, in this case I think Reddit is a very interesting example in terms of who the audience is per subreddit and their background. My research into existing visualisation of data going to and from Reddit turned a surprising lack of examples, however there are a fair few interesting existing visualisations of live data on other sites such as http://www.flightradar24.com and http://map.ipviking.com/. Be sure to follow this site to keep up to date with my projects in the course and what I might work on later in the year.

Leave a Reply

