Research Practices in Media and Communication

Curiosity in learning

Curiosity is at the heart of all learning, if you had no curiosity to learn something, you simply wouldn’t. At least that’s my take on learning. Now some may argue that you learn some pointless information sometimes just because you “have to”. For example taking a subject in the HSC that you didn’t necessarily find interesting. However I disagree, if you had no interest, or curiosity in learning this that you can only learn by going to university, and the HSC is a large way of enabling you to go to uni, then it is your curiosity for what you want to learn in the future that drives you to learn the less interesting things in the HSC.

Personally, I can’t think of anything I’ve truly learnt that I haven’t had some kind of curiosity behind. I’m sure there are things I’ve had to learn to get to where I want to be, but there’s still an underlying curiosity there that drives my learning.

On a side note, I’m looking forward to posting more of my opinions here for BCM210 and the rest of the world to see. Although I’m curious as to why some students are starting to use Medium instead of WordPress? Post your reasons in the comments!

Leave a Reply

