Categories · MEDA · Media Arts Workshop

Media Arts Project Pitch

After doing more research into what different audio could produce interesting physical results, I came across a number of radio stations. Most noteable amongst them is UVB-76, a radio station that has been running continuously since about 1982. All it broadcasts is strange buzzes and beeps that have no decipherable pattern or code behind them. Although UVB-76 has been interrupted three times by a russian voice saying some names and numbers, the purpose behind the radio station is unknown, however speculation is that it could be part of a ‘dead-hand’ system, which means that as long as the station is transmitting, protocols at a separate, often distant facility will not act. Which means that in the event of destruction of the station (in this case the station has been identified as somewhere just outside moscow) for a different system activate off site. However other speculations are that it is encrypted code for sleeper agents (however there is little to back this theory, as it is always unclear when the next transmission will be, which would mean always listening to the station.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UVB-76

However I digress, for my Media Arts Project I would like to create a physical representation of something unknown, like the meaning behind UVB-76. I’m not sure as to what materials I will be using yet, but I do know that the presentation of data is important aesthetically, in order to keep it interesting. Something like this visualized data model created by “scottkidall” looks aesthetically pleasing, (although I think I could make some improvements) however it lacks any sense of mystery, because we know the data represented here is only of different statistics about the city of San Francisco. I wish to explore a more experimental data set, and instill a sense of mystery through the work by using unknown data sets like that created by UVB-76 if I am able to. I also wish to work on a bit of a larger scale than the work seen here, if it’s possible to create something that complex on a larger scale of course. This is where I hope prototyping will come in useful, I plan to use a number of different methods to see which results best fit the kind of data I am trying to materialize. The first few I can think of are 3D printing (boring I know), CNC milled metal, a moving laser cast at an object (moving to the data), and hand made with painted wood (or similar).

Leave a Reply

